Latrigg Fell Race


Date: 15th May 2024
Time: 7.00 pm (Junior cross country race in the park from 6.00 pm)
Venue: Fitz Park Sports Pavilion
Entry: £5 on the day
Parking: Use pay & display car parks in town
Distance: 3 miles with 950ft of climb
Contacts: Carl Bell 07973768018

The Latrigg Fell Race is a classic ‘up and down’ race on one of the most popular fells in the Lake District. Having been held every year since 1973, the race has long been a firm favourite in the fell running community and always attracts a top quality field but is also short and accessible enough to be enjoyed by first-timers.

The race starts with a mad dash out of Fitz Park towards Spooney Green Lane. From here the route follows the main tourist path for approximately 800m, before a right turn onto the ‘direct route’. This is where the race really starts, with a brutally steep climb through the woods and then on the open fell to the summit. Once round the summit, the descent is via a different but equally steep path which will test even the very best descenders. The final section is very fast -if your legs haven’t already turned to jelly – finishing back in Fitz Park via Spooney Green Lane. The route is fully flagged.

  • Enter on the day from 6pm
  • Minimum age for senior race is 16
  • Waterproofs may be required in bad weather; there will be no further kit requirement
  • Generous prize list including spot prizes
  • Prizes will be awarded by race record holder Kenny Stuart
  • Perpetual trophies awarded to first man and woman, first vet and first Keswick AC man and woman
  • Generously sponsored by Kong Adventure – The North Lakes’ Mountain Running Emporium.
  • Please bring your own safety pins. They will be available at registration at a cost of 50p for a set of 4. All money raised this way will be donated to WasteAid UK, a charity that supports recycling projects in developing countries.


Duncan Frampton in the record breaking 1984 race.


Carl Bell in the 2015 race.


Latrigg Fell race route.

Course Records


Kenny Stuart – 16.37 (1984)


Victoria Wilkinson – 20.00 (2005)


2023 2022 2019   2018   2017   2016   2015   2014   2013   2012   2011   2010   2009