Sunday saw the 59th running of the Derwentwater 10 mile road race organised by Keswick AC. A strong showing from the host club, saw 33 club runners run the event, as well as many volunteering behind the scenes, to make the event a resounding success. Those running in the event were also to be found registering competitors before the event and refilling water bowsers after their run.

The event, which started at the Borrowdale Roundabout and finished at Portinscale Bridge, follows a picturesque route around Derwentwater. 

Ricky Lightfoot (Ellenborough) won the event in 53 minutes, five seconds, Border Harriers’ James Douglas was second in 53:41 and Keswick AC’s Brennan Townsend was third in 56:29.

Jo Zakrzewski (Durham Harriers)won the women’s race in 1:08:38. Carla Maley (North Shields Poly) was second in 1:09:34 and Karen Bridge (Eden Runners) was third in 1:10:33. 

Keswick runners to finish were: 

Brennan Townshend, 56:29; Sam Stead, 57:37; Rob Brown, 57:56; Steve Halsall, 58:41; Steve Hebblethwaite, 1:00:00; Daniel Jones, 1:00:22; David Birch, 1:01:45; Eddie Fletcher, 1:02:38; Kevin Frampton, 1:03:22; Graham Airey, 1:03:40; Steve Angus, 1:05:27; Ivan Holroyd, 1:07:17; James Christmas, 1:08:15; Steve Jones, 1:10:00; Rachel Mellor, 1:12:43; Lindsay Walker, 1:13:44; Keith Loan, 1:14:17; John Nichol, 1:16:31; Mike Beechy, 1:16:35; Nicola Black, 1:18:12; Helen Winskill, 1:18:33; Louise Brown, 1:20:02; Lynne Hume, 1:22:23; Sarah Mellodew, 1:24:35; Jane Fanning, 1:25:05; Leon Crossfield, 1:25:10; Ella Scott, 1:26:26; Nic Wiseman, 1:27:00; Nicky Butler, 1:27:18; Adrian Holme, 1:29:35; Dave Kearns, 1:33:21; Ekaterina Crocker, 1:40:36; Marie Nunes, 1:40:53